

The Julia Bodmer Award

As a tribute to the late EFI president Julia Bodmer, who encouraged many young researchers in the field of Immunogenetics, the Julia Bodmer Award (JBA) was established in 2002. prestigious award is given every year to a young scientist recognition of outstanding work within the field of Immunogenetics, and in acknowledgement of the laboratory in which scientist has performed their research.



The JBA is associated with an oral presentation at the opening session of the annual EFI Conference, and with the invitation to contribute a dedicated "Julia Bodmer Review" to HLA, the official journal of the Society.

Candidates must be an EFI member (or become a member at the time of application) and be no more than 10 years past completion of their doctoral thesis if applicable; candidates who have not undertaken or completed a doctoral thesis are also eligible. Applications from eligible candidates will be reviewed by all members of the EFI Scientific Committee who will give the highest priority to scientific merit for establishing a ranking by majority voting. The first ranked candidate will be selected. The JBA winner will be invited to deliver his/her presentation as first speaker of the EFI Conference Opening Session, to be guest at the prestigious Ceppellini Dinner, and to receive €1.000 in prize money. In addition, his/her expenses for registration, travel and lodging for the 3 nights of the EFI Conference will be covered by EFI.

Applications must be sent in writing to the EFI Secretary via Sandra van Hensbergen at the EFI Central Office (<u>ajvanhensbergen@lumc.nl</u>) before February 15, 2022.

A list of all the recipients of this award is given below:

2002 - Benedicte Lie

2003 - Maria Pascual

2004 - Marlies Dankers

2005 - Peter Horn (Hannover Medical School, Germany)

2006 - James Traherne (University of Cambridge, UK)

EFI President

Ann-Margaret Little
Ann-Margaret.Little@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

EFI Secretary

Mats Bengtsson
mats.bengtsson@igp.uu.se

EFI Treasurer

Gwendaline Guidicelli line-gwenda.guidicelli@chu-bordeaux.fr

EFI Office

Sandra van Hensbergen
Poortgebouw (Noord)
Kamer: N-00-002
Rijnsburgerweg 10
2333 ZA Leiden
The Netherlands
ajvanhensbergen@lumc.nl
Tel. + 31 71 526 51 64

www.efi-web.org



- 2007 Blanca Rueda
- 2008 Roberta Rizzo (University of Ferrara, Italy)
- 2009 Luca Vago (San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Italy)
- 2010 Constanca Figueiredo (Hannover Medical School, Germany)
- 2011 Lloyd D'Orsogna (Leiden University Medical Center, The Netherlands)
- 2012 Pierre-Antoine Gourraud
- 2013 Daniele Focosi (University of Pisa, Italy)
- 2014 Clemens Hermann (Oxford University, UK)
- 2015 Celine Rene (University of Montpellier, France)
- 2016 Hannah Siddle (University of Southampton, UK)
- 2017 James Lee (Harvard University, USA)
- 2018 Maxime Rotival (Institut Pasteur, France)
- 2019 Asbjørn Christophersen (University of Oslo, Norway)
- 2020 no JBA due to COVID-19 pandemic
- 2021 Cristina Toffalori (IRCCS San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milano, Italy)